Hair Loss & Chemo Round #2

So, first things first, the thing I dreaded most about chemo happened; my hair started falling out.

8 days post my first chemo treatment, my scalp started to become tender and hurt for no reason. It also had sometimes where it almost felt tingly.

9 days post treatment: I had increased scalp pain. It was so tender in some spots, without even touching it. It felt the same as if someone were pulling my hair extremely hard.

10 days post treatment: The scalp pain remained about the same, but my hair started slowly falling out this day. I noticed when I was doing my hair for work and when I was done, I looked down and I was standing in a pile of my own hair. I didn’t feel myself losing it, it was a gradual process. At this point my hair was only falling out when I would brush it.

Day 11 & 12 post treatment: These days were about the same. My scalp pain went away on the 11th day  and has stayed away. At this point my hair would fall out at random times. I would just feel a little piece of hair tickling my elbow. I’d find it in the most random places. It was also at the point that if I were to run my fingers through it or play with it, I would ALWAYS pull hair out. As each day went on the amount of hair that came out would increase. I saw and felt my hair thinning. It was coming out pretty evenly, lucky for me.

Day 13 post treatment: I woke up Monday, March 6, 2017 and my hair loss was at an all time high. I woke up with it on my pillow, caught in my armpits and trapped in the fabrics of my shirt. I went to brush my hair and I had to clean out my brush three or four times before I was done brushing my hair. I again, was standing in a pile of my hair. I mean it was EVERYWHERE. I took a shower and as I was washing my hair, it just kept coming out (this was after I brushed it). It was coming out in clumps, not strands. I again had to clean my brush multiple times before I could finish brushing my hair post shower. I already had the nervous habit of messing with my hair in some way, through all of this that nervous habit turned to me pulling out my hair. I would stand there and be talking to people and just pull out my hair. It didn’t hurt me and majority of the time I would realize I was doing it until I got a weird look from who ever I was talking to or I noticed the big ball of hair I had accumulated. I work at a vet clinic and Monday when I was restraining a dog for a blood draw, some of my hair got caught in her harness and a good amount was pulled out. Can you say EMBARRASSING?!  Well, I can. It was a hefty amount, that I quickly tried to grab in hopes nobody noticed. These reasons among others led me to the decision to hurry the slow, agonizing process along.

Day 13 post treatment I shaved my head. It was a hard decision for me to make. I love my hair and I always got emotional over a hair trim. So, my dad, brother, and brother’s friend shaved our heads. Granted, they are all guys, it really did make it easier with all the support! My step mom even joined in on the fun and shaved the underneath of hers! The support I have DOES make a difference!

pictured below: My big brother, Justin, My dad, Brian and me! :)

dad justin me

Now, onto Chemo Round #2

March 7, 2017

Tuesday, 10:20 am

After my first treatment, I didn’t have any side effects that were too crazy ( YAY ) But, I did have a few. I wasn’t able to sleep through the night until a couple of days ago, which sucks because it’s probably going to repeat post treatment #2. A couple of days after treatment I started losing the feeling in my fingertips. They are very numb and tingly all the time. If things are hot, I don’t really know, they just feel super warm. If it’s cold though, it is EXTREMELY cold. One of the other side effects I did have, was terrible mouth sores! They were unbearable! Luckily, my fabulous Dr. prescribed me Mary’s Magic Mouthwash and let me tell ya, THAT STUFF IS MAGIC!! My mouth sores were gone in a couple of days!

Today’s chemo went a lot different from my first treatment. Not in the way things were done or drugs they gave me, all that remained the same, I just have handled it  A LOT better than my first treatment. I have not had to take any nausea meds yet (minus the one they give me prior to my treatment). I didn’t have to take a nap, I really didn’t feel tired. I left with a lot of energy. My energy is started to drain, I feel that but still positive! I am hoping I can get some sleep tonight! This treatment was a lot more positive!

I took some pictures during chemo today just to kind of show what it’s like, especially how it looks through my port!

chemo round 2-2chemo round 2

 

If you have any questions, feel free to ask!

 

*Thank you again for all of the support! I have people I have never spoken to reaching out to me and offering help in any way they can! Everyone is so fabulous and I don’t think my journey would be as positive without the support of all of you! I will never be able to thank you guys enough! Keep being awesome! I love you all!*

 

10 thoughts on “Hair Loss & Chemo Round #2

  1. Halie, you don’t know me, but I know your dad and stepmother. The Hancock’s are praying for you and your family. I hope the treatments go by fast and that days like today continue.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Halie, You are in our thoughts and prayers , you are an inspiration to us all, you have this, beat that cancer with that upbeat attitude you have. We love you….from Mom and I both

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Halie, girl….you are amazing! I have prayed over you so any times since I first learned of you diagnosis. I don’t know if you remember but I’m Johnny and Jordan’s mom.and I just love your brother to pieces! I think it’s such a great thing that you are blogging about your journey, it’s very bold and most of all, it’s BRAVE, you are a very brave young women and I truly feel that God is going to use you and your journey to help another or many other young women that will travel the same road that you’re traveling! Keep that positive outlook and your eyes focused on God because I know HE’S GOT THIS!! And by the way, you are just as beautiful, maybe even more so, without your hair!! One lady I spoke with a few years ago, referred to loosing her hair as a battle scar, in which I replied, “well then, wear the scar proudly because God has big plans for you!!” , as He does you!! Thank you for taking us all along on this journey with you, you are already such an inspiration and blessing!! Continuing to pray over you daily!! 💖💖

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’re such an inspiration and I just love how well spoken you are. You’re so strong and hopeful and it’s just so beautiful how transparent your blog posts are. I’m so blessed to know you. Still praying for you sweetie. 😘

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Halie you are so beautiful! Hang in there , always remember the hair loss is only temporary and it means the meds are working!! Let me know if you need anything at all.
    Love, Michelle B. ❤❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

