Chemo Round # 1

February 21, 2017 

Tuesday, 11:00 am

I have to admit, all this time leading up to my first round of chemo, I wasn’t nervous, I wasn’t scared. With the lack of information I had going into my first treatment, I really did not think too much about the appointment itself.  One thing bothered me leading up to the appointment though and that was the possibility of losing my hair. It is something that even post treatment still bothers me. Where it is something so little in the midst of all of this garbage, it is one of the only things I have cried over. The chances of losing my hair is high and where I will be so upset for a while about losing it, it gives me an excuse to wear beanies all the time again (got to think of the little things lol) and I could figure out the cute little head wraps. I have to figure out something, especially with an airplane landing strip as a forehead. lol. Where I am very open about my journey, people that don’t know me would never guess there would be something wrong with me, but the second my hair is gone, everybody knows wether I know them or not. Hmm, I think that is what bothers me most.

A couple weeks ago when I had my port placed for treatment, they gave me some high quality numbing ointment. Let me tell you, that stuff works wonders. I put that on minimum of an hour before chemo and it numbs the area so when my IV is placed through my port I don’t/won’t feel the pain of the nurses trying to figure out where to poke the silly thing. After my IV is placed, they informed me they will take 3 tubes of blood every time to check my Complete Blood Count (CBC), hemoglobin levels, and White Blood Cell Count (WBC). They will then flush my blood with saline and give me a blood thinner to prevent my blood from clotting throughout my treatment. *Small word of advice, eat a more nutritious breakfast than a piece of cookie cake if you’re getting a blood thinner. You might end up seeing black dots all over and lose your peripheral vision in one of your eyes.* With a quick fix of some string cheese, we were on our way.

During the course of my treatment I will be receiving FIVE different drugs: Adnamycin, Bleomycin, Vinblastine, Dacarbazene, and Neulasta. Where I haven’t done the research I should on these drugs, the nurse did a fine job of explaining what she was giving me when she was giving it to me (giving pamphlets as well). I know the Neulasta is a little beeper looking thing they place on my stomach for 27 hours post chemotherapy. When the 27 hours is up it will inject me with a medicine that will aid in the positive formation of my WBCs. I was apprehensive about having this thing on my stomach and in the way for 27 hours, but the only thing that really got annoying was the blinking of a green light EVERY 10 SECONDS that I could see through my shirt, haha. Again guys, it’s the little things that make me happy or annoy me, apparently.

Post treatment, I didn’t/don’t really have any horrible side effects. The medicine they give you to combat the side effects of chemo work wonders, let me tell you. Where I was exhausted and nauseated for the most part, I just took the opportunity to rest for the remaining part of the day.  Wednesday, I spent most of the morning sleeping as well. I went to work and went about my day as normal. The only noticeable changes I have been able to notice is the nausea when my medicine wears off, I become out of breath following some of the simplest tasks, and head and stomach aches from time to time.

I am still holding my positive attitude and going through everything with the biggest smile I can muster up. The thing is though, I know this is something I have to do to get better, I just really wish I didn’t have to. Even with a positive attitude and the best doctors, I wouldn’t wish this upon anyone and it breaks my heart the amount of people that have to endure this and there is nothing I can do to help any of them or myself but share a friendly smile and sweet words.

*I want to continue to thank everyone for the outpouring amounts of support. Things get a little easier when you have a team behind you rooting for you. I also want to extend a thank you to all that have followed my blog and take the time to read my thoughts and about my journey. My heart is with you all.*

*Picture posted was taken post Chemo treatment # 1*

 

7 thoughts on “Chemo Round # 1

Leave a Reply

